Album Review: Lullwater’s Voodoo Out February 22, 2019

Lullwater Voodoo Album Image
Lullwater album cover, released Feb 22,2019.
Lullwater band Image
Lullwater band include: John Strickland (Rhythm Guitar & Lead Vocals), Daniel Binnie (Lead Guitar), Roy ‘Ray’ Beatty (Bass & Vocals), and Joseph Wilson (Drums & Vocals). Image courtesy of TAG Publicity 2019

As a writer/reviewer, that reviews albums for a magazine, you receive many requests from band and/or publicity company asking if you could review their latest album.  It does take a while to go through all of the requests. You have to weed out the album that qualify for review and the albums or EP that do not qualify because the album release date is longer than 30 days. (If you are interested, we try and review albums that the release date is less than one month or will be release soon.) However the other day I received an email from a band that caught my attention.

The band is called Lullwater and they have been around for a while now. According to the band’s bio, they were formed in 2007 in Athens, GA. Their debut self titled album came out in 2012. Since than Lullwater has had several releases. Including a EP called Revival in 2015 and a live EP called The Seattle Sessions in 2017.

The members Lullwater include John Strickland (Rhythm Guitar & Lead Vocals), Daniel Binnie (Lead Guitar), Roy ‘Ray’ Beatty (Bass & Vocals), and Joseph Wilson (Drums & Vocals). From the about page on Lullwater’s Facebook page, they are an alternative rock band…and from what I have heard, they have a good sound.

Lullwater latest album is called Voodoo. It was recorded in New Orleans at the Marigny Studios back in 2017. The album is a collection of 11 tracks and it was produced/engineered by Jakob Herrmann with Justin Davis as co-producer/engineer. Jakob Hermann mixed the album as well.

The first track of the album, “Curtain Call” does set the tone for the album…for the most part. The first few seconds of the song, reminds me of something that I heard on a Pink Floyd album (say something from Pink Floyd’s Another Brick In the Wall) with sounds of laughter in the background (it is brief but it is there). But that is the only Pink Floyd comparison you could do, the rest of the song stands on its own with original hooks and singing.

“Dark Divided”, one thing I have to say about this song is that the guitar solo on it is outstanding. The song has a strong beat. This song I could picture playing on the radio sometime soon.

“Empty Chamber”, has a complex strumming or maybe better to say picking of the guitar. The tempo of the song is a faster pace. It is a song that song that could be played cruising down the highway.

“Similar Skin”, the hook is in the bride, of “get out, get out, get out” is catch and it does get stuck in the mind. After hearing the song I was humming that line from the song the rest of the day. I know it is a simple line but there is something to it.

“This Life”, this song can be described as a highway song. Kids, if you don’t know what that means, go ask your parents.

Godlike”, this song starts of slow with but picks up a bit as the song plays out. It does remind me a little of an Alice in Chain influenced song. Maybe it because some of the mixing in the song.

“Buzzards”, this is what some would consider a toe tapper (yea I know that sounds corny). The drum beat stands out in the mix and you cannot help but tap your foot or some body part to the beat of the tune.

“Fight of Your Life”, I always have to give credit to bands when it comes to not being afraid to mix instruments a song. In the mix, the band does a good job in throwing or mixing horns in the song. It adds to the dynamic of the sound. This song could be an anthem for someone who is trying to make a change I their life.

“Into The Sun”, would make a great live song. When I first heard it, it was easy to picture the band getting the crowd into it.

“Yellow Bird” is a changed from what the previous sound on the album. The tempo is moderate and steady. The bird call that was mixed in the sound was a nice touch to the song.

“Suffer Not” is a song I on the fence about. Someone who follows the band more closely than I, may like it but my impression are mixed. The song is 10 minutes and 15 seconds long. I have to give them props for the mixture of different instruments such as a violins….or do you call it a fiddle? The song itself was mixed and down well but the beat is not for me. It just seemed out of place, compared to the rest of the songs on the album. However I have to give the band props for the effort.

All in all, the album is a good effort from the band. I would have to give it 8 out of 10, just because of not fully getting “Suffer Not”. Don’t get me wrong, the album is well mixed, performed and Lullwater should be proud of what they have produced. I can see them going far with this album. The band is currently on tour. If you get a chance to check them out, or pick-up/download the album, I would suggest you do. You may like what you hear. To find out where, please go to Lullwater website for details.


Track List:

  1. Curtain Call (3:44)
  2. Dark Divided (3:58)
  3. Empty Chamber (3:11)
  4. Similar Skin (4:05)
  5. This Life (3:07)
  6. Godlike (4:53)
  7. Buzzards (4:14)
  8. Fight of Your Life (4:07)
  9. Into The Sun (3:29)
  10. Yellow Bird (5:22)
  11. Suffer Not (10:15)

Release Date: February 2019
Label: Independent

DBM Rating: 8/10


Social Networking:

Official | Facebook| Twitter | Instagram