Album Review: Charming Liars New Album, Thought, Flesh and Bone, To Be Released March 1, 2019

Charming Liars new album is something you should check out.

Thought, Flesh and Bone Album Image
New album from Charming Liars. Release date March 1, 2019. Image from NP!M Pr 2019
Charming Liars Band Image
Charming Liars -Kiliyan Maguire (Vocals), Karnig Manoukian (Guitar / Production) and Mike Kruger (Bass). Photo Credit: Catie Laffoon

This is the season for reviews. Outside of the fall, it seems this is the time that bands start to release their albums or EP to the public. Today’s review comes from an Alternative band called Charming Liars. They are a band out of London, United Kingdom West End by Karnig and Mike. However, in 2013, they moved to Los Angeles, CA because of encouragement from John Feldman(Panic! At the Disco, Plain White T’s, 5 seconds of Summer and Blink 182) when he told them to look him up when they were in town. The current make of the band consists of Kiliyan Maguire (Vocals), Karnig Manoukian (Guitar) and Mike Kruger (Bass).

Charming Liars began in 2010 and has several EP under their belt. According to the website, in 2013 they released a four-song EP title New Disorder. Then in 2014, the band released another EP titled We Won’t Give Up. The follow-up, to that EP, was 12:31 Am in 2016 on Chartmaker, Inc label. Their latest album is Thought, Flesh and Bone, scheduled to be released on March 1, 2018. The album was produced/engineered by Karnig Manoukian, mixed by Will Brierre and mastered by Robert Vosgien at Capitol Mastering. The album was recorded at Manoukian studio.

The pace of Thought, Flesh and Bone moves the listener along, moving the listener to the next song. It currently contains eleven tracks, with a play time of approximately thirty-seven minutes long. The average song is less than four minutes with “Something Dark” being the longest song at three minutes fifty-nine seconds. But don’t be fooled by the short song time, each song draws the listener into the album with each note played.

Final thoughts. This album would appeal to someone who likes Alternative music or just music in general. The mix with vocals and instruments, with not one overpowering the other. As well as the lyrical writing, it would appeal to many. If this album is a piece of art to listen to, imagine how it would sound in concert? To download a copy of the album, go to either or Itunes to purchase a copy.  

Track Listing

  1.  Alive (3:29)
  2. Like A Drug (2:47)
  3. Ocean (3:16)
  4. Something Dark (3:59)
  5. Insomnia (2:52)
  6. Soul (3:55)
  7. Running Away (3:21)
  8. Deeper (3:20)
  9. Spiral Out (3:17)
  10. Time To Start (3:17)
  11. Novacaine (3:36)

Release Date: March 1, 2019
Label: Chartmaker, INC/TAC

DBM Rating: 8.5/10


Social Networking

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube