Surf’s Up in Virginia Beach – The Beach Boys Hit the Sandler Center

Mike Love of The Beach Boys performs at the Sandler Center for the Performing Arts in Virginia Beach, VA on February 2, 2022. Photo © Annette Holloway Photography

Virginia Beach, VA — The iconic American rock band, The Beach Boys, brought that California summer vibe to Virginia Beach’s Sandler Center for the Performing Arts. With thirty-five songs over two sets (see setlist below), the band delivered chart-toppers such as “Surfin’ USA,” “Fun, Fun, Fun,” “Surfer Girl,” “I Get Around,” “California Girls,” “Help Me Rhonda,” “Good Vibrations,” “Barbara Ann,” “Wouldn’t It Be Nice,” and “Kokomo.” Missing from the night’s setlist was one of my favorites, “Rock and Roll Music,” but hearing behind-the-scenes accounts of the band’s journey had the audience hanging on every word. Mike Love described spending time in India with George Harrison of The Beatles, and mentioned the massive July 4th celebrations at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C., one of which I attended in 1981. It is still one of my favorite concerts to date.


Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | TikTok


Over 60 years, The Beach Boys have sold over 100 million records worldwide, received more than 33 RIAA Platinum and Gold record awards, and ranked 12th on Rolling Stone’s “100 Greatest Artists of All Time” list. In addition to being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1988 by Elton John, the original band members were honored at the 2001 Grammy Awards®  with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The group’s original lineup in 1961 consisted of brothers Brian Wilson, Dennis Wilson and Carl Wilson, their cousin Mike Love, and their friend Al Jardine. Despite the controversy over the years, The Beach Boys’ legacy continues with Mike Love, Bruce Johnston, musical director Scott Totten, Christian Love, Brian Eichenberger, John Cowsill, Tim Bonhomme, Keith Hubacher and Randy Leago. Some of the band members’ recent work includes Mike Love’s pandemic-themed track “This Too Shall Pass” and Bruce Johnston’s “Here We Go… Again” written and produced for The Weeknd’s album Dawn FM.

The Beach Boys Setlist

Set 1:

  1. Do It Again
  2. Surfin’ Safari
  3. Catch a Wave
  4. Hawaii
  5. California Sun (Joe Jones cover)
  6. Little Honda
  7. Surfin’ U.S.A.
  8. Surfer Girl
  9. Getcha Back
  10. You’re So Good to Me
  11. Dance, Dance, Dance
  12. When I Grow Up (to Be a Man)
  13. Darlin’
  14. Be True to Your School
  15. In My Room
  16. Don’t Worry Baby
  17. Little Deuce Coupe
  18. 409
  19. Shut Down
  20. I Get Around


Set 2:

  1. California Dreamin’ (The Mamas & the Papas cover)
  2. Sloop John B (traditional cover)
  3. Wouldn’t It Be Nice
  4. California Girls
  5. Disney Girls
  6. God Only Knows
  7. Pisces Brothers (Mike Love song)
  8. Here Comes the Sun (The Beatles cover)
  9. Do You Wanna Dance? (Bobby Freeman cover)
  10. Help Me, Rhonda
  11. Kokomo
  12. Barbara Ann (The Regents cover)
  13. Good Vibrations
  14. This Too Shall Pass (Mike Love song)
  15. Fun, Fun, Fun

Show Date: February 2, 2022