Jefferson Starship & Dave Mason Take Fans Down Memory Lane

Dave Mason's Traffic Jam at Brown County Music Center in Nashville, IN. | Photo by: ©Pix Meyers 2024
Dave Mason's Traffic Jam at Brown County Music Center in Nashville, IN. | Photo by: ©Pix Meyers 2024

Nashville, IN. – It was a night of nostalgia. Two heavy-hitters of classic rock from the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s came together at Brown County Music Center in Nashville, IN. for DAVE MASON’S TRAFFIC JAM.

“Music, at its essence, is what gives us memories. And the longer a song has existed in our lives, the more memories we have of it.” 


First up was JEFFERSON STARSHIP. A band that has seen many changes over the years. The band originally started out as JEFFERSON AIRPLANE in 1965 and quickly became one of the pioneering bands of psychedelic rock and helping to define that 
“San Francisco Sound”. Then in 1974, three members from Airplane (Paul Kantner, Grace Slick, and David Freiberg) created JEFFERSON STARSHIP which found huge success on radio and gave us such classics as “Miracles” (featuring Airplane’s Marty Balin on vocals), “With Your Love“, “Runaway” and “Jane” to just name a few. Jefferson Starship went through several major personnell changes, along with genre changes through the years and finally called it quits in 1984. In 1985, after going through a change in musical direction and a lawsuit over the name, STARSHIP was formed featuring Mikey Thomas and Grace Slick. Starship found some success with their album KNEE DEEP IN THE HOOPLA which gave us the number one singles “We Built This City” and “Sara“. 

In 1992, original Jefferson Airplane/Jefferson Starship member Paul Kantner revived Jefferson Starship which has continued since his death in 2016 and is now led by Jefferson Airplane/Jefferson Starship member David Freiberg



Jefferson Starship featuring original member David Freiberg (vocals, guitar), Cathy Richardson (vocals, guitar, cow bell), Donny Baldwin (drums, backing vocals), Chris Smith (keys, bass), and Jude Gold (lead guitar, backing vocals).



  • Find Your Way Back
  • Stranger
  • Runaway
  • With Your Love
  • Fire
  • Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now (Starship Cover)
  • Miracles
  • White Rabbit (Jefferson Airplane Cover)
  • We Built This City (Starship Cover)
  • Jane
  • Somebody to Love (The Great Society Cover)

Headliner Dave Mason closed out the night with a set of “greatest hits” of his work leaning heavy on his Traffic days. If you’re not familiar with the name Dave Mason, I bet you’re familiar with his work. Dave is an English singer-songwriter that helped form the band Traffic in 1967 and included a young prodigy keyboardist by the name of Steve Winwood. While in Traffic, Dave wrote and recorded his best known tune, “Feelin’ Alright?” that has become a rock anthem and been covered by many musicians. After leaving Traffic, Dave continued to play and record with such greats as Jimi Hendrix, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, Eric Clapton, David Crosby, Graham Nash, The Rolling Stones, Fleetwood Mac and Mama Cass Elliott from the Mamas & Papas just to name a few. You can hear Dave singing back up vocals on Hendrix’sCrosstown Traffic” and playing 12 string acoustic on “All Along the Watchtower” from Electric Ladyland. Dave appears on The Stones album Beggars Banquet playing the shehnai (clarinet) and bass drum on “Street Fighting Man”. Mason appears on George Harrison’s All Things Must Pass and was slated to be the second guitarist in Clapton’s Derek and the Dominos. And the list goes on and on….Talk about a resume.



Dave Mason’s Traffic Jam featuring Dave Mason (guitar, vocals), Marty Fera (drums, percussion), Mark Stein (keys, vocals), Johnne Sambataro (guitar, vocals) and Ray Cardwell (bass, vocals).



  • Share Your Love
  • Rock and Roll Stew (Traffic Cover)
  • Pearly Queen (Traffic Cover)
  • The Low Spark of High Heel Boys (Traffic Cover)
  • Every Woman
  • We Just Disagree (Jim Krueger Cover)
  • Can’t Find My Way Home (Blind Faith Cover)
  • Forty Thousand Headman (Traffic Cover)
  • Let It Go Let If Flow 
  • I’m A Man (The Spencer Davis Group Cover)
  • Only You Know and I Know
  • Dear Mr. Fantasy (Traffic Cover)
  • Feelin’ Alright (Traffic Cover)


Show Date: 04.04.2024