Rock the Ruins Kicks Off Their Summer Concert Series with JJ Grey & Mofro

JJ Grey & Mofro | Rock The Ruins | Indianapolis, IN. | 06.05.2022 | Photo by: ©Pix Meyers 2022
JJ Grey & Mofro | Rock The Ruins | Indianapolis, IN. | 06.05.2022 | Photo by: ©Pix Meyers 2022

Indianapolis, IN. – It was a beautiful Sunday late afternoon. The sun was shining, the breeze was warm, the beverages were on ice and some great food truck options were ready and waiting! It was opening night of one of Indianapolis’ favorite summer concert series Rock The Ruins and tonight’s almost sold out show promised to be a good one. Tonight’s line-up featured southern bluesman JJ Grey with his band Mofro and they brought along the sensational Joslyn & the Sweet Compression to get the party started.

Joslyn & The Sweet Compression features lead vocalist Joslyn Hampton along with band mates Marty Charters (guitar), Steve Holloman (keyboards), Smith Donaldson (bass), Rashawn Fleming (drums), Trevin Little (saxophone), and Chase Fleming (trombone & trumpet). Based out of Lexington, Ky, this groovy lil band gave a solid 30 minute performance full of grace and swagger. There was so much soul & funk packed into the set you couldn’t help but get your body up & moving. Keep an eye out for Joslyn & TSC as they’re currently out touring through June before returning to one of my favorite places to go when I’m in Lexington, The Burl



A quick glance around the park found it full with fans of all ages settled in; lawn chairs or blankets in place and patiently waiting for the main event. It had been several years since the band had made it to Indy and you could feel the excitement and anticipation in the crowd. For some (including myself) it was the first time seeing the band; others were alumni and talked their favorite show or album and speculated about what tunes would be performed. 

JJ Grey (lead vocals, guitars, harmonica, keyboards) hit the stage full throttle with a hot harmonica and a foot stompin’ groove backed by band members Eric Brigmond (keyboards), Marcus Parsley (trumpet), Dennis Marion (trumpet), Craig Barnette (drums), Pete Winders (guitar), and Todd Smallie (bass) otherwise known as Mofro.

Kicking the set off with a fan favorite from their third studio album of the same name, Country Ghetto, JJ Grey and Mofro keep the energy going with popular tunes like “Jookhouse”, “99 Shades of Crazy”, “On Fire”, and the tradition folk classic “Rising Sun Blues” (more famously known as the “House of the Rising Sun”). With nine studio albums to choose from, JJ and Mofro took fans of all ages on a musical journey of blues mixed with swamp rock and funk for a feel good, “shake your bootie” good time like only JJ Grey and Mofro can. (It should also be noted that seeing JJ Grey and Mofro perform brings a whole new level to the music and songs that you’re familiar with – to say the band is “smokin'” is an understatement!!)



SETLIST: Holliday Park, Indianapolis

  • Country Ghetto
  • Somebody Else
  • Jookhouse
  • Nare Sugar
  • House of the Rising Son (The Animals cover)
  • Beautiful World
  • 99 Shades of Crazy
  • What I’m Looking For
  • Lochloosa
  • On Fire
  • Lazy Fo Acre
  • Everything Good Is Bad (100 Proof (Aged In Soul) cover)
  • Orange Blossoms
  • The Sun is Shining Down


  • Brighter Days
  • Ol’ Glory


JJ Grey and Mofro are out touring through fall and will be hitting the festivals in July. Make sure to check here for dates as this is a fun show that the whole family can enjoy!!

Show Date 6/05/2022