Ladies & Gentlemen, Lyle Lovett and His Large Band…

Lyle Lovett & His Large Band | TCUA at WRSP | Indianapolis, IN. | Photo by: ©Pix Meyers 2022
Lyle Lovett & His Large Band | TCUA at WRSP | Indianapolis, IN. | Photo by: ©Pix Meyers 2022

Indianapolis, IN. – If you haven’t caught on already, I got a thing for Texas singer-songwriters. There are so many good ones to choose from…Willie Nelson, Steve Earle, Kris Kristofferson, Shawn Colvin, Gary Clark Jr., and you can put Lyle Lovett right up there at the top of that list. You either get Lyle or you don’t. At first glance you may assume Lyle is all country music (I mean, he is from Texas & an actual cowboy) but upon further review you’ll hear a little gospel, a lot of big band swing, mixed in with some rhythm & blues, then topped with a dash of jazz…That’s when you start getting a little closer to what Lyle Lovett is all about. 

I’ve been a fan of Lyle’s since I saw him open for Rickie Lee Jones at a little theatre named Starlight Musicals (sadly gone now) in 1990. Lyle was touring behind his second studio album Pontiac and it was a performance I still remember to this day. I’ve seen Lyle & His Large Band now at least 11 times and every single time he leaves me (and his fans) with a memorable performance. Lyle calms my soul. His voice sounds like “grandma’s chicken noodle soup on a cold winter’s day” ~ He comforts me…And tonight was no different.

It was hot. I mean record-breaking hot but that did not keep fans from coming out to the show for a great night of music! It had been ten years since Lyle had released a new album but that changed this past May when he released 12th of June via Verve Records. Wasting no time getting into the new album, Lyle kicked the show off with “Are We Dancing?” before stepping off stage to highlight the band as they rolled into the instrumental “Cookin’ At the Continental” then rejoining the band for the rest of the set. Midway through the evening, Lyle invited Chris Isaak and his band on stage to assist with some covers to the delight of the crowd. Overall, it was a well rounded set focusing on the new album while still treating fans to their favorites from albums past. 

It should be noted there was a buzz in the air when the band walked out onto stage and people in the audience noticed bass player Leland Sklar and drummer Russ Kunkel take the stage. These two legendary musicians have played (& toured) with such greats as Jackson Browne, James Taylor, Carol King, & Linda Ronstadt just to name a few. Heck, Leland alone is credited with playing on over 2000 albums as a session & touring musician! Trust me when I tell you that this tour and the entire group of musicians playing on it is the best of the best. The showmanship is a level above. This is definitely one to take the whole family to. 




This was a double-headlining show with Chris Isaak and his long time band members Kenney Dale Johnson (drums), Rowland Salley (bass), Hershel Yatovitz (guitar) and Scott Pluckett (keyboards, accordion) otherwise known as the Silvertones opening the show.  They gave a fun-filled set playing all the hits including “Wicked Games”, “Baby Did a Bad, Bad Thing”, and “Somebody’s Crying” just to name a few.  The band seemed to be having a good time, playing around with each other and telling jokes; Chris and the guys even had some dancing and choreographed moves for a couple tunes. Unfortunately, Chris didn’t allow photographers for this performance but he will be joining Lyle Lovett & His Large Band on select dates through the end of August. Make sure to check here for shows that include the dual headliner with Chris Isaak. 

Setlist: Indianapolis, IN. 

  • Are We Dancing
  • Cookin’ At The Continental (The Horace Silver Quintet cover)
  • Pants Is Overrated
  • Here I Am
  • Straighten Up & Fly Right (Nat King Cole Trio cover) – joined by Chris Isaak
  • Dream Baby (Cindy Walker cover) – joined by Chris Isaak with Kenney Dale Johnson, Rowland Salley, Hershel Yatovitz, & Scott Plunkett singing backup vocals
  • Up In Indiana
  • I Will Rise Up
  • I’ve Been To Memphis
  • Her Loving Man
  • If I Had A Boat
  • 12th of June
  • Pig Meat Man
  • That’s Right (You’re Not From Texas)
  • Here I Am (reprise as Lyle exits stage)


  • Church


Show Date: 07/20/2022