Doug Hoekstra Readies “The Day Deserved”

Award-winning author and musician, Doug Hoekstra, is set to release his new album, The Day Deserved, on April 30, 2021.

Chicago-bred and Nashville-based, Hoekstra has criss-crossed the globe in publications, setlists, stages, and playlists. The Day Deserved is Hoekstra’s first album in over a decade. In deviation from the typical singer-songwriter fare, the songs on this album are described as diverse, with reflections of rock, folk, and reggae, and a nod to the likes of Cohen, Velvets, and Kinks. You will experience a range from gypsy fiddle (“Seaside Town” a tale of a disenfranchised artist) to reggae roots melodica (“Carry Me,” an ode to fatherhood and connectedness).

“Basically, after all the creative activity I’d been engaged in over the years, I spent the past decade stepping away from music to raise my son, work non-profit, teach, and do some prose writing.  He’s older now and a couple years ago, I was inspired by the influx of free time, things in our country I wanted to write about, and things I wanted to say musically, different than I had in the past.”

“So, this is a record intended to be a marker of the times, disenfranchised characters inhabiting the tunes, pressing on through barriers and breaks fostered by their surroundings.  Often, they travel a circuitous route, reflected in music that mirrors their path to self-determination, authenticity, happiness.  Sometimes the fruits of this journey are reflected in something as simple as a better day, their day, the day deserved.”  Hope you enjoy and can find yourself between the notes.  (Doug Hoekstra, 2021)

Check out “Gandy Dancer” from The Day Deserved:

Track Listing:
1. Seaside Town (4:42)
2. Higher Ground (7:45)
3. Unseen Undetected (5:29)
4. Wintertime (4:38)
5. Late Night Ramble (7:37)
6. Carry Me (3:46)
7. Grace (4:26)
8. Gandy Dancer (5:13)
9. Keeper of the Word (5:00)
10. Outside Looking In (6:53)

Follow Doug Hoekstra

Media Release provided by Devious Planet PR